Dominica in Learning

Dominica is located in the Eastern Caribbean, located between the French overseas regions of Guadeloupe to the north and Martinique to the south. Its geographic coordinates are approximately 15.4150° N latitude and 61.3710° W longitude.



Dominica enjoys a tropical climate characterized by warm temperatures year-round. The island experiences a rainy season from June to October, with the possibility of hurricanes, and a dry season from December to May. Average temperatures range from 25°C to 30°C (77°F to 86°F), with higher elevations experiencing cooler conditions.


Dominica’s diverse ecosystems support a rich variety of flora and fauna. The island is home to unique species such as the Imperial Amazon parrot, the Sisserou parrot (the national bird), and the Dominica agouti. Its marine environment is teeming with marine life, including dolphins, whales, and colorful coral reefs.

Longest Rivers:

The longest river in Dominica is the Layou River, stretching approximately 14.7 kilometers (9.1 miles) from its source in the central highlands to the Caribbean Sea on the west coast of the island. Other notable rivers include the Rosalie River and the Indian River.

Highest Mountains:

Dominica is known for its rugged terrain and volcanic peaks, with Morne Diablotins standing as the highest mountain on the island. Rising to an elevation of 1,447 meters (4,747 feet) above sea level, Morne Diablotins offers stunning panoramic views of the surrounding rainforest and coastline.



The history of human settlement in Dominica dates back to around 3100 BCE, with the arrival of the indigenous Kalinago people, also known as the Caribs. These skilled seafarers and agriculturalists established villages across the island, living in harmony with the natural environment and utilizing its resources for sustenance.

European Colonization:

European contact with Dominica began in the late 15th century when Christopher Columbus sighted the island during his second voyage to the Americas in 1493. However, it wasn’t until the 18th century that European powers, primarily the French and British, vied for control of Dominica due to its strategic location and fertile land.

Colonial Period:

Dominica changed hands between the French and British multiple times throughout the 18th and 19th centuries, with each colonial power leaving its mark on the island’s culture and society. The indigenous Kalinago people fiercely resisted European colonization, but ultimately, their population declined due to disease, conflict, and forced migration.

Independence and Modern Era:

Dominica gained independence from Britain on November 3, 1978, becoming the Commonwealth of Dominica with Roseau as its capital. Since independence, Dominica has embraced its cultural heritage and natural resources, striving for sustainable development and economic prosperity while preserving its unique identity and environmental integrity.


Dominica has a population of approximately 72,000 people, with a diverse ethnic makeup reflecting its history of colonization and immigration. The majority of the population identifies as Afro-Dominican, with significant numbers of mixed-race individuals and a small minority of indigenous Kalinago people. English is the official language, and Christianity is the predominant religion, with Roman Catholicism being the largest denomination.

Administrative Divisions

Dominica is divided into ten administrative parishes, each with its own distinct character and charm. The parishes, along with their respective populations, are as follows:

  1. Saint Andrew Parish – Population: 9,471
  2. Saint David Parish – Population: 6,789
  3. Saint George Parish – Population: 21,241
  4. Saint John Parish – Population: 6,646
  5. Saint Joseph Parish – Population: 5,637
  6. Saint Luke Parish – Population: 1,668
  7. Saint Mark Parish – Population: 1,834
  8. Saint Patrick Parish – Population: 7,354
  9. Saint Paul Parish – Population: 8,269
  10. Saint Peter Parish – Population: 7,797

10 Largest Cities by Population

Dominica’s largest cities by population include:

  1. Roseau – Population: 14,000
  2. Portsmouth – Population: 3,500
  3. Marigot – Population: 2,500
  4. Mahaut – Population: 2,000
  5. Berekua – Population: 1,500
  6. Grand Bay – Population: 1,200
  7. Wesley – Population: 1,000
  8. Salisbury – Population: 800
  9. Castle Bruce – Population: 700
  10. La Plaine – Population: 600

Education Systems

Education in Dominica is primarily provided by the government and is free and compulsory for children between the ages of five and sixteen. The island is home to several primary and secondary schools, as well as the Dominica State College, which offers tertiary education in various fields. While there are no universities on the island, students have access to regional and international institutions through partnerships and scholarships.



Dominica is served by two airports, with the Douglas-Charles Airport (formerly known as Melville Hall Airport) being the primary gateway to the island. The Canefield Airport, located near Roseau, serves domestic flights and smaller aircraft.


Dominica has a network of roads connecting its major towns and villages, including the Eastern Caribbean Highway (EC1), which runs along the island’s east coast, and the Transinsular Road, which traverses the interior.


Dominica is renowned for its natural harbors and ports, including the Roseau Cruise Ship Berth and the Portsmouth Cruise Ship Berth, which welcome cruise ships and yachts from around the world. The island’s ports facilitate maritime trade and tourism, contributing to its economic development.

Country Facts

  • Population: 72,000
  • Capital: Roseau
  • Language: English
  • Religion: Christianity (predominantly Roman Catholic)
  • Race: Afro-Dominican, Mixed, Kalinago
  • Currency: Eastern Caribbean Dollar (XCD)
  • ISO Country Codes: DM
  • International Calling Code: +1-767
  • Top-Level Domain: .dm